End of a Decade: Albums

Best ten albums of the last ten years? Not an easy one, to be honest. For a start, most of the albums I’ve been listening to were from the 1990s or earlier. And of those that I have been listening to from this decade, I’ve struggled to single out ten and struggled even harder to assemble into an order I’m happy with.

Really wanted to include Jarvis, it's such a great album.

The one that I didn’t include but really wanted to squeeze into the top ten the most was Jarvis Cocker’s often very dark, but always witty, debut solo album Jarvis. Other great records that didn’t quite make it include Johnny Cash’s moving final covers album American IV: The Man Comes Around, The Cribs’ utterly awesome Men’s Needs, Women’s Needs, Whatever , probably Super Furry Animals’ greatest album (but it’s hard to decide) Phantom Power, the Manic Street Preachers’ album using Richey Edwards’s final lyrics Journal for Plague Lovers, and the White Stripes’ awesome White Blood Cells.

The list of things I’ve had to leave out isn’t as long as the TV or film top tens I’m doing, but that’s not to say that there hasn’t been much good music this decade, just that I’ve not been listening to enough of it. I’m sure your top ten will be entirely different to mine, but that’s what music is all about – enjoy the music you like, and here’s what I’ve enjoyed from this decade.

Starting with number ten…

Leave a Reply

