End of a Decade: Film

Time for another top ten of the decade, this time a list of my favourite movies since the year 2000. And this was probably the most difficult of the lot. Every time I thought I had the list pinned down, someone would remind me of another great film. There are just too many to choose from.

Finding Nemo should have been on the list, but isn't. Don't worry, Dory will forget soon anyway.

It’s been an excellent decade for world cinema, and I’m a bit gutted that I wasn’t able to include at least a few more from Brazil’s City of God, Mexico’s Y tu Mamá También, South Korea’s The Host, Hong Kong’s Infernal Affairs, Japan’s Dark Water, Spain’s [Rec], France’s Amélie, Germany’s The Lives of Others and Sweden’s Let the Right One In. Actually, reading back at the list right now, I feel quite annoyed with myself for not including any of them.

Other films I could easily have included in the top ten were The Dark Knight, Children of Men, Lost in Translation, Superbad, Zodiac, Burn After Reading, Juno, In the Loop, Mulholland Drive, Kill Bill Vol. 1, Inglourious Basterds, Before Sunset, Cloverfield, The Prestige, Monsters, Inc. and Up.

There are two films I particularly feel I should mention, because they’ve been in and out of this top ten all day. I loved Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris’s completely fantastic road movie Little Miss Sunshine, so brilliantly written and acted, and Andrew Stanton and Lee Unkrich’s beautiful 2003 film Finding Nemo is one of my favourite Pixar films with such a lovely story and some of my favourite ever voice acting from Al Brooks and Ellen DeGeneres. Even as I type, I’m still wondering about the top ten, and if I’ve really made the right choice for number one…

Right, then, click here to get started with the top ten…

2 responses to “End of a Decade: Film

  1. Your choice for number one reveals just how much of a softie deep down you are, not that I disagree for it is a very good film and satirizes the state of Western civilisation today (hope that wasn’t too much of a spoiler!)

Leave a Reply

